retour aux groupes

ascendant vierge

Electro / Belgique, France (Brussels, Paris)
ascendant vierge
  • Top 1ODéc
ascendant vierge

Liens

Streaming

À propos de

Artistes comparables

Nina Hagen, Mylène Farmer, Sexy Sushi

Freestyle

Crazy pop, mutante

" Une electro-pop excentrique aux voix baroques "

Les deux membres de l’Ascendant Vierge nous avaient déjà marqués par leurs projets précédents. Les femmes d’abord : la première moitié du groupe est composée de Mathilde Fernandez, née dans le sud de la France et vivant actuellement à Bruxelles. Cette auteure-compositrice-interprète atypique démontre un amour tenace pour les arts visuels et les arts de la scène depuis le début de sa carrière solo en 2015. Son collègue et complice dans Ascendant Vierge est Paul Seul, DJ et producteur basé à Paris, et co-fondateur de Casual Gabberz (un collectif français à succèsspécialisé dans la techno hardcore).

Ils ont commencé à travailler ensemble lorsque Paul a remixé une des chansons solo de Mathilde en 2018. Cette expérience leur a donné envie de développer encore plus leur collaboration, et ils ont donc uni leurs forces pour créer Ascendant Vierge. À l’été 2019, ils sortent leur premier titre, Influenceur, qui ressemble fort à une déclaration d’intention : des beats techno rapides et des mélodies pop, et bien entendu la voix de Mathilde, qu’on pourrait classer entre hymnes baroques en plein essor et diverses artistes féminines parmi les plus excentriques (Nina Hagen, Diamanda Galás…). Dans leurs interviews, ils avouent leur admiration pour Die Antwoord, Sexy Sushi et Rammstein.

More new songs soon followed, as extreme and singular as their debut: ‘Faire et Refaire’, ‘Où sont nos rêves?’ and ‘Discoteca’, all of them accompanied by inventive videos. In 2020, the duo released the Vierge EP, mixing futuristic sounds and retro effects, experimentations and a desire to remain accessible on any dancefloor or rave, while embracing what elitists would consider ‘guilty pleasures’ (there is more than one nod to the reclusive diva Mylène Farmer in their music). A bold, striking band.

D’autres nouvelles chansons suivront bientôt, aussi extrêmes et singulières que celles de leurs débuts : Faire et Refaire, Où sont nos rêves? et Discoteca, toutes accompagnées de vidéos gorgées de créativité. En 2020, le duo sort son EP Vierge, mélangeant sons futuristes et effets rétro, expérimentations et désir de rester accessible sur n’importe quelle piste danse ou rave, tout en embrassant ce que les snobs considéreraient comme des « plaisirs coupables » (on trouvera plus d’un clin d’œil à la diva Mylène Farmer dans leur musique). Un groupe qui n’a pas froid aux yeux, et qui ne laisse pas indifférent.

back to bands

ascendant vierge

Electro / Belgium, France (Brussels, Paris)
ascendant vierge
  • Top 1ODec
ascendant vierge

Links

Streaming

About

File under

Nina Hagen, Mylène Farmer, Sexy Sushi

Free style

Mutant, crazy pop

" Eccentric electro-pop with baroque vocals "

The two members of ascendant vierge have both made a lasting impression on us in their previous projects. Ladies first: one half of the band is Mathilde Fernandez, born in the South of France and currently based in Brussels. This atypical singer-songwriter has shown her love for visual and performance art throughout her solo career, which began in 2015. Her colleague and accomplice in ascendant vierge is Paul Seul, a DJ and producer based in Paris, and co-founder of Casual Gabberz (a successful French collective specializing in hardcore techno).

They started working together when Paul remixed one of Mathilde’s solo songs in 2018. The experience left both wanting to develop their collaboration even further, so they joined forces to create ascendant vierge. In the summer of 2019, they released their first track, ‘Influenceur’, which felt like a declaration of intent: fast techno beats and pop melodies, with Mathilde’s signature vocals, somewhere between soaring baroque anthems and some of the most eccentric female artists (Nina Hagen, Diamanda Galás…). In interviews, they have confessed their admiration for Die Antwoord, Sexy Sushi and Rammstein.

More new songs soon followed, as extreme and singular as their debut: ‘Faire et Refaire’, ‘Où sont nos rêves?’ and ‘Discoteca’, all of them accompanied by inventive videos. In 2020, the duo released the Vierge EP, mixing futuristic sounds and retro effects, experimentations and a desire to remain accessible on any dancefloor or rave, while embracing what elitists would consider ‘guilty pleasures’ (there is more than one nod to the reclusive diva Mylène Farmer in their music). A bold, striking band.