Zurück zu Bands

good job nicky

Pop / Griechenland (Athen)
good job nicky
Top 1OMai
good job nicky

Links

Streaming

Über uns

Abspeichern unter

Billie Eilish, Sam Smith, The Weeknd

Freestyle

urban pop

" Künstler aus Athen, der Pop mit urbanen und elektrischen Klängen mischt "

good job nicky wurde zunächst in seinem Heimatland Griechenland für seinen einzigartigen Stil bekannt. Sanft gesungener R&B mit Gospel-Einflüssen und byzantinische Referenzen treffen auf Pop, Urban und Elektronik. Der junge Singer-Songwriter schaffte seinen Durchbruch Ende 2020 mit der modernen Power-Ballade „January 8th“, deren erstaunlich einfache Produktion – der Song beginnt nur mit einem Klavier und ätherischen Backing-Vocals und arbeitet sich dann langsam zum Höhepunkt vor – den Fokus umso mehr auf die eigene Stimme und den Text legt.

Nicht schlecht für den Anfang – geradezu perfekt. Es folgte eine Reihe beeindruckender Singles wie „Clouds“, einem dunklen und fesselnden HipHop/Pop-Track, der die duale Identität des Künstlers als Mensch und Schöpfer thematisiert, und „FO SHO”, einem Lo-Fi-Rap-Track mit oldschooligem Vibe. Die Liste ließe sich fortsetzen. 

good job nicky (Nick Varthakouris) entwirft genreübergreifende Hymnen, die nahtlos die Lücke zwischen melodischem Pop und dynamischen Urban/R&B-Sounds überbrücken. Seine introspektiven Texte schrecken nicht zurück vor Themen der Bitterkeit –

 „I’ve been dishonest Im lying/I have no reason to grow(„Come Home“) – und Bestürzung:  „Speak to God for better days/and He make it rain, („Clouds“).

Aber er schafft es immer, mit optimistischen Momenten die Balance zu halten, wie z.B. bei „Blue“: „Blue come back/and turn the sky from grey singt er, während er im Videoclip wie ein alternativer Kleiner Prinz auf seinem kaleidoskopischen Planeten umherwandert.

Aktuell arbeitet good job nicky an seinem mit Spannung erwarteten Debütalbum. Derweil stehen wir hier, hören seine Songs, lauschen den Kompositionen (Ermis Geragidis ) und schauen die Videos – die vielversprechenden ersten Schritte eines unberechenbaren und unverwechselbaren Talents.

back to bands

good job nicky

Pop / Greece (Athens)
good job nicky
Top 1OMay
good job nicky

Links

Streaming

About

File under

Billie Eilish, Sam Smith, The Weeknd

Free style

urban pop

" Athens-based artist who blends pop with urban and electro tones "

good job nicky became known, firstly in his home country of Greece, for his unique style, which wrapped gently-sung R&B and gospel/Byzantine-like vocals around pop, urban and electronic tones. The young singer-songwriter made his breakthrough in late 2020 with the modern power ballad ‘January 8th, with a surprising dominance of stripped-down backdrop (it begins with merely a piano and ethereal backing vocals, slowly building up a strong climax) that puts all the more focus on his own voice and words.

A perfect beginning, followed by a series of impressive singles, such as ‘Clouds’, a dark and compelling hip-hop/pop track with a theme around the artist’s dual identity as human and creator, and ‘FO SHO’, a lo-fi rap track with an old-school vibe, just to name a few. 

good job nicky (real name Nick Varthakouris) crafts genre-blurring anthems that smoothly bridge the gap between melodic pop and dynamic urban/r&b sounds. His introspective lyrics don’t shy away from themes of bitterness-

“I’ve been dishonest I’m lying/I have no reason to grow” (‘Come Home’), and dismay – “Speak to God for better days/and He make it rain”, (‘Clouds’),

but also keep the balance with his most optimistic moments, like his song ‘Blue’ – “Blue come back/and turn the sky from grey” he sings while he wanders around his kaleidoscopic planet like an alternative Le Petit Prince in the official videoclip.

As good job nicky is putting the finishing touches to his much-anticipated debut album, we stand here, listening to his songs and considering the top-notch composition by Ermis Geragidis, as well as the video production, the promising first steps from an unpredictable and distinctive talent.