Zurück zu Bands

zalagasper

Pop / Slowenien (Maribor)
zalagasper
zalagasper

Links

Streaming

Über uns

Abspeichern unter

The xx, Billie Eilish

Freestyle

Electro Pop

" Charmanter Pinterest-Pop "

In einer Zeit, in der Radiohits normalerweise mit einem lauten Knall und voller Bombast daherkommen, gehen Zalagasper einen anderen Weg. 2018 blieb das zaghafte Plätschern ihrer ersten Single „Valovi“ („Wellen”) sachte in den Ohren der slowenischen Hörer*innen hängen – sanftes Gemurmel und eine plinkernde Produktion, ein Hinweis auf größere Dinge, die noch kommen würden. Wir mussten nicht lange warten.

Bevor sie sich kennenlernten und ihr Leben schließlich begannen, zusammen zu verbringen, hatte sich Zala Kralj auf YouTube bereits mit ihren Coverversionen einen Namen gemacht – und der Producer Gašper Šantl arbeitete in einem Prager Tonstudio und radelte mit dem Fahrrad durch ganz Europa zu radeln. Als sie zusammenkamen, machte alles klick – ihre zarte Stimme, seine zerbrechliche Inszenierung, ihre liebenswürdige Unbeholfenheit als Paar und die Bildsprache im Vintage-Stil, die sowohl die Generation Z als auch die Boomer überzeugen konnten. Sie schafften es überraschend ins Finale des Eurovision Song Contest 2019, was sie einem weltweiten Publikum vorstellte, das sich sofort für sie erwärmte.

Since then, they’ve signed to UMG and released their debut full-length and a bunch of carefully crafted videos, further establishing both their sound and their visual aesthetic. Their cosiness seems to be here to stay, and in times like these, that’s a very comforting thought indeed.

Danach unterschrieben sie einen Vertrag bei Universal, veröffentlichten ihr Debütalbum und eine ganze Reihe sorgfältig gestalteter Videos, in denen sich sowohl ihr Sound als auch ihre visuelle Ästhetik weiter festigen. Der entspannte Approach von zalagasper scheint von Dauer zu sein. Ein sehr beruhigender Gedanke in diesen Zeiten.

back to bands

zalagasper

Pop / Slovenia (Maribor)
zalagasper
zalagasper

Links

Streaming

About

File under

The xx, Billie Eilish

Free style

Electro Pop

" Charming Pinterest pop "

In a time when radio hits usually arrive with a loud bang, full of in-your-face bombast, zalagasper definitely broke the mould. In 2018, the tentative lapping of their first single  ‘Valovi’ (‘Waves’) got stuck in Slovenian listeners’ ears gently, all soft murmurs and tinkling production, hinting at greater things to come. We didn’t have to wait long.

Before they found each other and portmanteaued their names and lives, Zala Kralj was gradually making a name for herself doing covers on YouTube, and Gašper Šantl was a fledgling producer who went from high school to working in a music studio in Prague and cycling all over Europe. When they got together, everything clicked – her tender voice, his fragile production, their cutesy couple awkwardness, and vintage-inspired imagery winning over gen Z and boomers alike. They pulled off a surprise upset in the national Eurovision contestant selection and made it to the finals of the 2019 Eurovision Song Contest, which introduced them to a global audience that immediately warmed to them.

Since then, they’ve signed to UMG and released their debut full-length and a bunch of carefully crafted videos, further establishing both their sound and their visual aesthetic. Their cosiness seems to be here to stay, and in times like these, that’s a very comforting thought indeed.