retour aux groupes

Bee Bee Sea

Rock / Italie (Castel Goffredo)
Bee Bee Sea
Bee Bee Sea

Liens

Streaming

À propos de

Artistes comparables

Cramps, Black Lips

Freestyle

punk rock psychédélique, garage

" Un nuevo garage baigné de soleil aux joyeux reflets psyché "

La saga colorée de Bee Bee Sea a débuté en 2013 dans la petite ville de Castel Goffredo, dans le nord de l’Italie, où Damiano Negrisoli (guitare, chant), Giacomo Parisio (basse, chant) et Andrea Onofrio (batterie, chant) ont uni leurs talents pour créer un mélange diabolique de rock garage des années 60 et de folie psyché. Leur musique célèbre l’héritage psychobilly de The Cramp, rappelle le hooliganisme garage-punk de Black Lips et fait écho au rock & roll percutant de 12 Bar Bruise, le premier album de King Gizzard & The Lizard Gizzard.

C’est en 2015 que le groupe sort son premier album éponyme via Glory Records, son propre label. Deux ans plus tard, ils enregistrent leur plus récent long format en date, Sonic Boomerang, un album frénétiquement excitant et décontracté qui a tout pour plaire. Vient alors une longue tournée aux États-Unis et en Europe. L’un des morceaux de cet album, The Garage One, a été utilisé dans la bien nommée série télévisée Shameless de Showtime.

Les chansons de Bee Bee Sea sont comme des fêtes d’ados sans limites (Stoned by Your Love), de celles qu’on organise quand les parents ne sont pas là, durant lesquelles tout ce qui pourrait ressembler à une contrainte est balancé par-dessus bord (Lou Weird) et où toutes les folies sont possibles du moment qu’elles sont drôles (Who is the doggy? Who is doggy? Répètent-ils en boucle dans The Dog is The King of the Losers).

En 2019, Bee Bee Sea a sorti l’accrocheur Be Bop Palooza, premier aperçu de leur nouvel album. À première vue, l’Italie n’est pas le lieu auquel on penserait en premier pour un groupe de punk rock aux accents garage, malicieux comme une bande de gamins en fuite avec un sac rempli de pétards ; le résultat est pourtant plus que concluant.

Bee Bee Sea revient le 30 avril 2020 avec un nouveau single, Daily Jobs. Cette rencontre entre les Sex Pistols et Supergrass ouvre leur nouvel album Day Ripper, sorti le 9 octobre chez Wild Honey Records, avec une pochette dont la ressemblance avec celle de Revolver saute aux yeux. Les membres du groupe expliquent que  (…) cette chanson et plus généralement l’album dans son ensemble sont le résumé de qu’ont été nos vies ces dernières années, partagées entre travail à l’usine le jour et écoute de notre musique la nuit. La nuit devient alors comme un rêve, un véritable « Day ripper ! »

Gonna Get Me, l’une des rares chansons lourdement psyché-garage de l’album, repose sur une progression de riffs alternant avec des refrains à la Beatles, et exprime le regret d’avoir couché avec la petite amie de quelqu’un (« you’re so pretty, that’s too bad you can’t be mine/ we cheated on him, what the heck was in our mind? ») L’album dégage un rock garage endiablé, aussi frénétique que délicieusement amusant avec ses guitares indie aussi cool que fougueuses.

Le plus impressionnant, c’est que malgré cette immense maturité musicale, Bee Bee Sea n’a pas renoncé à son humour bon enfant. Day Ripper est un kaléidoscope musical époustouflant, qui passe magnifiquement d’un morceau à l’autre, avec des chansons comme Horst Klub et Be Bop Palooza capables d’exprimer toute leur sensibilité pop entre rythmes croustillants et chants rugissants qui vous feront perdre le nord. Les Bee Bee Sea sont avec cet album au sommet de leur forme !

back to bands

Bee Bee Sea

Rock / Italy (Castel Goffredo)
Bee Bee Sea
Top 1OJan
Bee Bee Sea

Links

Streaming

About

File under

Cramps, Black Lips

Free style

psychedelic punk rock, garage

" Sun drenched nuevo garage with gleeful psych(osis) "

The colorful brain-frying saga of Bee Bee Sea began in 2013, in the small city of Castel Goffredo, Northern Italy, where Damiano Negrisoli (guitar, vocals), Giacomo Parisio (bass, vocals) and Andrea Onofrio (drums, vocals) conjured up a fiendish blend of greasy 60s garage rock and psychedelic madness. Their music celebrated The Cramp’s psychobilly legacy, reminisced on the garage-punk hooliganism of Black Lips and echoed the pummeling rock & roll of King Gizzard and The Lizard Gizzard’s debut ‘12 Bar Bruise’.

In 2015, the band released their self-titled debut album via Glory Records, the band’s own label. Fast forward to 2017, where they recorded their most recent full-length,’ Sonic Boomerang’, and you’ll find a frenetically exciting album with a loose attitude that draws in the listener. The band had earnt an extensive tour of the  US and Europe. Quite fittingly, the album’s track ‘The Garage One’ was featured on Showtime TV series Shameless.

Bee Bee Sea’s songs come across like flickering scenes from a wild teenage party (‘Stoned by Your Love’) in the absence of parents, one where restraints are tossed out the window and nothing makes sense (‘Lou Weird’) but it’s fun, so that’s fine (“Who is the doggy? Who is doggy?” they repeat in ‘The Dog is The King of the Losers’).

In 2019 Bee Bee Sea released catchy single ‘Be Bop Palooza’, a first taste from their new official release. At first glance, Italy seems a weird place to breed a garage-flavored punk rock band, one with a messed-up undertow and the mischievous impact of a scamp kid with a bag full of firecrackers. In this case, though, it worked.

Bee Bee Sea returned on April 30, 2020, with their new single ‘Daily Jobs’ This Sex Pistols-meet-Supergrass track is the opener of their new album, ‘Day Ripper’, which came out on October 9 via Wild Honey Records, with Revolver-inspired artwork. According to the band, “… This song and the album as a whole are basically the summary of our lives in the last couple of years, split between working in a factory during the day and playing our music at night. Night is a dream and a day… Day Ripper!

One of the few heavy psych-garage songs on the album is the track ‘Gonna Get Me’, which is based on a riff progression alternated with Beatles-like choruses, while also elaborating on the idea of regretting sleeping with someone’s girlfriend (“you’re so pretty, that’s too bad you can’t be mine/ we cheated on him, what the heck was in our mind?”). The album emits high-spirited garage rock that is both frenetic and deliciously fun, delivered with a veneer of indie cool and fiery guitars.

What’s really impressive is the fact that with all this musical maturity, Bee Bee Sea haven’t sacrificed their good-natured humour. ‘Day Ripper’ is a head-spinning musical kaleidoscope, splendidly shifting focus from track to track, with songs like ‘Horst Klub’ and ‘Be Bop Palooza’ showing off their pop sensibilities in-between crunching rhythms and roaring vocals that will make you lose your mind. Bee Bee Sea are definitely in their best psych riot form!